Browse all exams

Bihar TRE 4.0 (Teacher Recruitment Exam)

Bihar Public Service CommissionState Exams · 2026 cycleOpen

BPSC Advt. No. 15/2026 — Teacher Recruitment Examination (TRE) 4.0, School Teacher posts under the Education Department, Govt. of Bihar.Supersedes Advt. No. 14/2026 (18 Aug 2026), which BPSC cancelled on 22 Sep 2026.Online application 25 Sep – 26 Oct 2026.

Last Date26 Oct 2026 (fee payment until 25 Oct 2026)
Vacancies33,320

Important Dates

Check against the official notification ↗

Apply Start25 Sep 2026
→
Last Date26 Oct 2026 (fee payment until 25 Oct 2026)
Exam DateNot announced yet

Vacancies & Posts

Some details below are not confirmed — check the official notification ↗

Total Vacancies33,320

Original and revised notices

  • Original notificationView ↗
  • Corrigendum · 29 Sep 2026Corrigendum: 932 additional posts; revised total 33,320 View ↗

Reported pay Not confirmed

Not taken from an official pay circular — treat as approximate.

Pay LevelPay BandPosts
Primary Teacher (Classes 1–5)₹25,000 basic monthly pay3,847 vacancies
Middle School Teacher (Classes 6–8)₹28,000 basic monthly pay8,563 vacancies
Secondary Teacher (Classes 9–10)₹31,000 basic monthly pay4,370 vacancies (includes 493 added by corrigendum)
Higher Secondary Teacher (Classes 11–12)₹32,000 basic monthly pay16,540 vacancies (includes 439 added by corrigendum)

These are basic monthly pay figures stated for the teaching levels, not take-home salary.Allowances, deductions and in-hand pay vary; do not present an estimated in-hand amount as an official figure.

Who Can Apply

Check against the official notification ↗

QualificationPost-specific: Primary Teacher (Classes 1–5) — Senior Secondary/12th with ≥50% marks + 2-year D.El.Ed (or equivalent);Middle/Secondary/Higher Secondary posts — relevant subject graduate/postgraduate degree + B.Ed (or equivalent), per level.A valid teaching-eligibility test score is mandatory: CTET or Bihar-TET for Classes 1–8, Bihar-STET for Classes 9–12.
AgeMinimum age, calculated as of 01 Aug 2026: 18 years for Classes 1–8 and 21 years for Classes 9–12. Maximum-age limits are calculated as of 01 Aug 2024: Unreserved male candidates — 37 years; Unreserved female and BC/EBC candidates — 40 years; SC/ST candidates — 42 years; transgender candidates — 42 years. Check the full advertisement for the exact category, domicile, reservation and exception clauses that apply to you.
Age RelaxationThe maximum-age calculation date is 01 Aug 2024.The age limits listed above are subject to any additional relaxations that apply under the full advertisement; check its category, domicile and exception clauses.

Application fee

FeeThe advertisement states an examination fee of ₹100 per candidate, plus a ₹200 biometric charge only if the candidate does not provide an Aadhaar number.The fee treatment for applications across multiple teaching levels is not stated here; check the final payment summary shown by the live BPSC portal before paying.

What You Need

Some details below are not confirmed — check the official notification ↗

  • 📷 PhotoExact official pixel dimensions and file-size limits are not confirmed in this record. Follow the upload instructions displayed in the live BPSC application portal; do not rely on file-size estimates from secondary websites. · Follow live BPSC portal instructions — Exact official pixel dimensions and file-size limits are not confirmed in this record.Follow the upload instructions displayed in the live BPSC application portal; do not rely on file-size estimates from secondary websites. Not confirmed
  • ✍️ SignatureExact official pixel dimensions and file-size limits are not confirmed in this record. Follow the upload instructions displayed in the live BPSC application portal; do not rely on file-size estimates from secondary websites. · Follow live BPSC portal instructions — Exact official pixel dimensions and file-size limits are not confirmed in this record.Follow the upload instructions displayed in the live BPSC application portal; do not rely on file-size estimates from secondary websites. Not confirmed
  • 💳 Application FeeThe advertisement states an examination fee of ₹100 per candidate, plus a ₹200 biometric charge only if the candidate does not provide an Aadhaar number.The fee treatment for applications across multiple teaching levels is not stated here; check the final payment summary shown by the live BPSC portal before paying.

Prepare your photo & signature →

How to Apply

Some details below are not confirmed — check the official notification ↗

View Official Notification ↗
  1. Open the BPSC official website and follow its current link to the online application portal.
  2. Confirm that the application is for School Teacher TRE 4.0, Advertisement No. 15/2026. Advertisement No. 14/2026 was cancelled and superseded.
  3. Complete or review One-Time Registration (OTR), personal details, qualifications, experience and applicable teaching-eligibility-test details as required by the portal.
  4. Upload the photograph and signature according to the current portal instructions. Exact pixel dimensions and file-size limits are not confirmed in this record. Not confirmed
  5. Choose the applicable teaching level, subject and other requested preferences; review the complete form before locking/submitting it.
  6. Pay the amount shown in the live portal. The advertisement’s fee clause states ₹100 examination fee and a ₹200 biometric charge only if Aadhaar is not provided; check the portal summary for your application before payment.
  7. Submit the final application and save the confirmation page and payment receipt.

Exam Pattern

Check against the official notification ↗

2 hours 30 minutes (150 minutes). · Negative Marking: One-third of the marks assigned to a question is deducted for each incorrect answer, as stated in the advertisement. · Passing Marks: The language component is qualifying, with a minimum 30% requirement. Do not present this as a single overall pass mark; overall merit/cut-offs and any additional category conditions are governed by the advertisement and subsequent official notices.

SectionDetails
Classes 1–5: Language (qualifying)30 questions/marks; minimum 30% in the language component
Classes 1–5: General Studies120 questions/marks
Classes 6–8, 9–10 and 11–12: Language (qualifying)30 marks; minimum 30% in the language component
Classes 6–8, 9–10 and 11–12: General Studies40 marks
Classes 6–8, 9–10 and 11–12: Concerned Subject80 marks
Total150 questions, 150 marks; 2 hours 30 minutes

The language component is qualifying and requires at least 30%.For Classes 1–5, the distribution is Language (30 marks) plus General Studies (120 marks).For Classes 6–8, 9–10 and 11–12, the distribution is Language (30 marks, qualifying), General Studies (40 marks) and Concerned Subject (80 marks).The examination duration is 2 hours 30 minutes.The advertisement specifies a deduction of one-third of the marks assigned to a question for an incorrect answer.

Syllabus

A verified, topic-by-topic syllabus for this exam isn't published yet — browse other exams with a syllabus, or check the official notification above.

Browse Syllabus Directory →

Need study material? Browse Study Resources →

Selection Process

Single objective written examination (OMR-based); no separate prelims-and-mains sequence is specified for this recruitment.

Source & Verification

SourceOfficial notification — issued by Bihar Public Service Commission View official notification ↗
Also checkedCorrigendum (29 Sep 2026) View ↗
Not yet confirmedThese are shown with a “Not confirmed” tag. Check them on the official notification before relying on them.
NoteThe controlling recruitment is BPSC Advertisement No. 15/2026, dated 22 Sep 2026; it supersedes cancelled Advertisement No. 14/2026.The 29 Sep 2026 corrigendum adds 932 posts (493 for Classes 9–10 and 439 for Classes 11–12), revising the total from 32,388 to 33,320.The corrigendum states that the remaining advertisement terms continue unchanged except where expressly amended.Exact photo/signature dimensions and file-size limits are not confirmed in this record; follow the upload instructions on the live official application portal.

Notifications

  • CorrigendumCorrigendum: 932 additional posts; revised total 33,320 — 29 Sep 2026 View ↗

FAQs

How many vacancies are there after the corrigendum?

The revised total is 33,320: 3,847 for Classes 1–5, 8,563 for Classes 6–8, 4,370 for Classes 9–10, and 16,540 for Classes 11–12. The 29 Sep 2026 corrigendum added 493 vacancies for Classes 9–10 and 439 for Classes 11–12.

Is TRE 4.0 a prelims-and-mains examination?

The advertisement describes an objective written examination, not a separate prelims-and-mains sequence. Paper distribution varies by teaching level; see the Exam Pattern section.

What is the paper pattern and duration?

For Classes 1–5: Language 30 marks and General Studies 120 marks. For Classes 6–8, 9–10 and 11–12: Language 30 marks, General Studies 40 marks and Concerned Subject 80 marks. Duration is 2 hours 30 minutes.

Is there negative marking?

Yes. The advertisement specifies a deduction of one-third of the marks assigned to a question for an incorrect answer.

What reservation applies to women candidates?

The advertisement provides horizontal reservation for Bihar-domiciled women of 50% for Classes 1–8 and 35% for Classes 9–12, subject to the applicable eligibility and domicile provisions. Check the full advertisement for how the rule applies to your case.

What is the application fee?

The advertisement states an examination fee of ₹100 per candidate and a ₹200 biometric charge only if the candidate does not provide an Aadhaar number. The fee treatment for multiple teaching levels is not stated here; check the live portal’s payment summary before paying.

What photo and signature dimensions are required?

Exact official pixel dimensions and file-size limits have not been confirmed in this record. Follow the upload instructions shown in the live BPSC application portal instead of relying on estimates from secondary websites.

GovBabu is independent and not affiliated with UPSC, SSC, IBPS, Railway, BPSC or any government body. Requirement details are compiled from official notifications where available — always confirm against the current official notification before submitting.