Browse all exams

OPSC OCS (Odisha Civil Services)

Odisha Public Service Commission (OPSC)State Exams · 2026 cycleClosed

Odisha Civil Service Examination 2025 (Advt. No. 05 of 2025–26) — OPSC issued a Main Written Examination subject-code notice on 13 Oct 2026.Check the official notice board for the current Main examination programme and corrigenda.

Applications ClosedApplication window closed; the exact extended deadline remains unconfirmed against the…View dates ↓
Vacancies465

Important Dates

Some details below are not confirmed — check the official notification ↗

Apply Start20 Jan 2026
→
Applications ClosedApplication window closed; the exact extended deadline remains unconfirmed against the official notification and corrigenda.
Expected exam datePreliminary examination held 07 Jun 2026. Main examination date is not confirmed in this record; check the latest official OPSC notice/programme.

Vacancies & Posts

Check against the official notification ↗

Total Vacancies465

Pay

Pay LevelPay BandPosts
Level 12 (Odisha Revised Scale of Pay, 2017)₹56,100 (basic, Cell-1)Group A services — Odisha Administrative Service, Odisha Police Service and equivalent
Level 10 (Odisha Revised Scale of Pay, 2017)₹44,900 (basic, Cell-1)Group B services — Odisha Revenue Service, Odisha Taxation & Accounts Service and equivalent

Figures are basic pay only, drawn from secondary reporting and not verified against the official pay notification;DA, HRA and other allowances add to this and vary by posting.

Who Can Apply

Some details below are not confirmed — check the official notification ↗

QualificationBachelor's degree from a recognized university or deemed institution (foreign degrees accepted if approved by the Government of India), plus a qualification in Odia language (via Middle School exam with Odia as a subject, High School in Odia medium, or an equivalent).
Age21–42 years as on 01 Jan 2025 (born between 02 Jan 1983 and 01 Jan 2004) — one early secondary source cited a 38-year upper limit, but two independent sources corroborate 42 as correct Not confirmed
Age RelaxationSC/ST/SEBC, women and Ex-servicemen: +5 yrs · PwBD (40%+ disability): +10 yrs, cumulative with SC/ST/SEBC benefit where applicable · No EWS-specific relaxation was found in the sources checked.

Application fee

Fee₹700 for General/SEBC (reported as refundable for candidates who attempt the Preliminary exam — unconfirmed against the official notification) · exempted for SC/ST and PwBD — secondary-sourced, not verified against the primary document. Not confirmed

What You Need

Some details below are not confirmed — check the official notification ↗

  • 📷 PhotoNot published/found in the sources available for this entry · Not confirmed — Candidates must upload a scanned photograph, signature and left thumb impression during application, per secondary sources, but no pixel/KB specification could be found — confirm directly on opsc.gov.in before applying. Not confirmed
  • ✍️ SignatureNot published/found in the sources available for this entry · Not confirmed — Same caveat as the photo — check the official notification PDF at application time. Not confirmed
  • 💳 Application Fee₹700 for General/SEBC (reported as refundable for candidates who attempt the Preliminary exam — unconfirmed against the official notification) · exempted for SC/ST and PwBD — secondary-sourced, not verified against the primary document. Not confirmed

Prepare your photo & signature →

How to Apply

Some details below are not confirmed — check the official notification ↗

View Official Notification ↗
  1. Visit opsc.gov.in and locate the OCS 2026 (Advt. No. 05 of 2025-26) notification under Advertisements/What's New
  2. Register on the OPSC online application system
  3. Fill in personal, educational and category details
  4. Upload photograph, signature and left thumb impression as specified (exact spec unconfirmed — see note above) Not confirmed
  5. Pay the examination fee online — ₹700 for General/SEBC (reported as refundable for those who attempt the Preliminary exam), exempted for SC/ST and PwBD candidates Not confirmed
  6. Submit the application before the deadline

Exam Pattern

Some details below are not confirmed — check the official notification ↗

Not confirmed The exam pattern below has not been confirmed from the official notice currently available to GovBabu — it may change.

Prelims: 2 hours per paper (2 papers, same day). Mains: not specified per-paper in sources found (assume standard 3-hour descriptive papers common to state PSCs; unconfirmed). Interview: not fixed duration. · Negative Marking: Prelims: -1/3 (0.33) mark deducted per wrong answer. Mains: no negative marking (descriptive format). · Passing Marks: Prelims Paper I (GS): N/A — merit-based cutoff, declared after each exam, no fixed pre-set qualifying %. Prelims Paper II (CSAT): fixed qualifying minimum of 33% (pass/fail only, not counted in ranking). Mains Odia and English language papers: qualifying in nature (exact minimum % not confirmed from sources found).

SectionDetails
Prelims Paper I - General Studies200 questions, 200 marks, 2 hours, counted toward Prelims cutoff
Prelims Paper II - General Studies (CSAT/Aptitude)200 questions, 200 marks, 2 hours, qualifying only (min 33% required), not counted toward Prelims ranking
Mains - Odia language paperqualifying only, not counted in merit (marks not specified in sources found)
Mains - English language paperqualifying only, not counted in merit (marks not specified in sources found)
Mains - Essaycounted in merit (marks not specified in sources found)
Mains - General Studies (4 papers)counted in merit (marks not specified in sources found)
Mains - Optional Subject (2 papers)counted in merit (marks not specified in sources found)
Interview - Personality Test250 marks, counted in final merit

Syllabus

Want the complete topic-by-topic syllabus for this exam?

View Full Syllabus →

Need study material? Browse Study Resources →

Selection Process

Three stages — Preliminary (offline OMR, objective), Mains (descriptive, offline), Personality Test (Interview).

Source & Verification

SourceOfficial notification — issued by Odisha Public Service Commission (OPSC) View official notification ↗
Not yet confirmedThese are shown with a “Not confirmed” tag. Check them on the official notification before relying on them.
NoteOPSC’s official notice board lists Odisha Civil Service Examination 2025 (Advt. No. 05 of 2025–26) and a Main Written Examination subject-code notice dated 13 Oct 2026.Use the official notice board and any corrigenda for the controlling dates and current examination programme.

FAQs

Do the Odia and English language papers in OPSC Mains count toward my final rank?

No — both are qualifying-only papers. You must pass them, but their marks aren't added to your merit score; only the Essay, four General Studies papers, and two Optional Subject papers (1750 marks total) plus the Interview count.

Is the CSAT paper in OPSC Prelims scored for ranking, or just pass/fail?

Just pass/fail — you need a minimum 33% in Paper II (CSAT) to qualify, but only Paper I (General Studies) marks decide your actual Prelims cutoff/ranking.

How much weight does the Interview carry in OPSC OCS compared to other state PSCs?

Quite a lot — 250 marks, which is proportionally higher than many other state PSCs on this list (e.g., UPPSC's 100 or TGPSC's ~75-100), so interview preparation matters more for OPSC OCS aspirants.

Are SC/ST/PwD candidates fully exempt from the OPSC OCS application fee?

Yes, per current secondary sources — SC/ST/PwD candidates pay no application fee, while General/OBC candidates pay Rs 500.

GovBabu is independent and not affiliated with UPSC, SSC, IBPS, Railway, BPSC or any government body. Requirement details are compiled from official notifications where available — always confirm against the current official notification before submitting.